Welcome to The Tenth Man!

notepad_flat

People who know me well know that I have been entertaining the idea of writing and becoming a journalist for many years. At the same time, I have been studying Economics since 2011 and was lucky enough to find a strong interest for inequality, taxation and financial issues. This blog combines these two passions and gives me an opportunity to experiment with writing about topics that I am engaged in in economic articles and opinion pieces. It also works as an outlet so I don’t have to bother my friends with too-long-to-read Facebook comments anymore. “The Tenth Man” is a metaphor for critical thinking and always questioning common convictions:

“…it is the duty of the tenth man to disagree. No matter how improbable it may seem, the tenth man has to start digging on the assumption that the other nine are wrong.

(It is probably also one of the best quotes out of a so-so movie I know.)

I have decided to write in English most of the time, simply because everybody in my environment who speaks German understands English but not vice versa and because the topics I want to cover are nearly all of an international nature.

If you end up reading some of my articles I urge you to let me know what you think: Do you agree? Do you disagree? Are you entirely indifferent? Or do you have any suggestions? For now, this is first and foremost an experiment and I am curious to know how it is going. Cheers.


Cultural References

Music – Pink Floyd – Hey You, Red Hot Chili Peppers – Throw away your television

Film – World War Z

Written by Jonas

Author: Jonas Send

I analyse current topics that interest me in opinion pieces and share my research in economic articles. the10thmanblog.wordpress.com

2 thoughts on “Welcome to The Tenth Man!”

Leave a Reply

